cc-settings-icon BUILD AT HOME
80% Arms sells AR-15 and .308 80% Lower Receivers, 80% Lower Jigs and other accessories which allow you to legally build a firearm at home in most states.
We utilize state of the art 5-axis CNC machines to mill all our .308 and AR-15 80 percent lower receivers to incredibly precise tolerances using premium billet aluminum.
We also offer our patented AR-15 and .308 Easy Jigs which is the first 80% lower jig that makes it ridiculously easy for a non-machinist to finish their 80% lower in under 1 hour with no drill press required.
Products manufactured by 80% Arms carry a lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects. We will promptly replace or repair any product that we determine to be defective.
Wyoming 80 Percent Lower Laws thumbnail image

Wyoming 80 Percent Lower Laws

80 Percent Arms   |   Feb 15th 2022

Legal Disclaimer: The information in this blog is not legal advice. We are not lawyers. While we endeavor to keep all our blogs updated with the most accurate information, gun laws change quickly and frequently. Legal changes can often be difficult to uncover, unpack, and publish in real-time. Therefore, while we try our best to provide timely information, be aware that what you’re reading below may change (or already has changed).

Do not rely solely on the information provided by us or on this website to ensure compliance with your purchase decisions. To ensure that you, the buyer, are acting in accordance with all federal, state laws and local ordinances, please do your own research and consult an attorney if necessary.

To see where some or none of our products can be shipped to, please see our full list of sensitive states here. 

What is an 80% Lower?

An 80% lower receiver is an unfinished and unserialized blank which requires some machining work from the end user to turn it into a 100% lower receiver, otherwise, what is legally considered as a firearm. 80 lowers are missing the trigger pocket and three holes that need to be milled and drilled out to be completed. Unless states have passed their own laws barring the possession or sales of 80% products; pending the ATF's updated decision from the most recent proposed rule 2021R-05 80% lowers are completely legal, not considered firearms and thus can be shipped straight to your front door. No FFL required. To explore the 80 percent lower receivers we have to offer, check out our multiple collections.

Are 80 Lowers Legal In Wyoming?

As of this guide’s initial publish date, 80% lower receivers and frames are not considered as firearms by the ATF and are completely legal to ship directly to buyers residing in the state of Wyoming.

Do I Need to Serialize My 80 Lower in Wyoming?

If you build out your own firearms starting with 80 lowers in Wyoming you do not need to serialize the lower receiver or frame as there are currently no laws requiring citizens to do so. Should you wish to serialize your lower receiver we offer  custom engraving for our lowers.

Key Gun Laws in Wyoming

Other than laws regarding 80 lowers, these are the key gun laws you should be aware of if you reside or are traveling through Wyoming.

Firearm Possession and Purchase Requirements

To purchase a long gun in Wyoming buyers must be at least 18 years old. To purchase a handgun in Wyoming buyers must be at least 21 years old. No extra permits are needed to purchase handguns or long guns inWyoming nor is extra registration necessary. Wyoming’s minimum age for possession of handguns is 18 years old and there is no minimum age restriction for possession of long guns.

In the event a minor is in possession of a handgun the normal exemption applies when minors have prior written consent from their parents or guardian or if they are in direct supervision or presence of their parents, guardian or when attending a hunter’s or firearms safety course, using the gun for target practice or recreational shooting at an established range, involved in an organized competition, hunting or trapping with a valid license, travelling to and from these events, or at their own residence with permission and supervision of a parents or a legal guardian.

All firearm purchases and transfers require a background check not including private party transfers (Dealer Record of Sale also known as 4473 form or “DROS”). While federal law requires federal firearm license holders (“FFL’s”:) to initiate background checks on buyers prior to the sale of a firearm, federal law also allows states to serve as their own “point of contact” and conduct their own background checks via state, federal records or databases, as well as the option to use the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System (“NICS”) database.

Wyoming is not a point of contact for the NICS and as a result, dealers must conduct their background checks by going through the FBI. Wyoming CCW holders are exempt from background checks when purchasing a gun from a FFL dealer.

Open and Concealed Carrying

Wyoming is a “shall-issue” and permitless carry (aka Constitutional Carry) state for concealed carrying. Constitutional carry became effective July 1, 2021. Permits are still being issued for reciprocity purposes with other states in the form of “CFP’s” or a Concealed Firearm Permit. Open carrying is also legal in Wyoming without a permit for any person who is at least 18 years old and legally allowed to possess a firearm. Some areas are off limits so be sure to do your research. CFP applicants must be 21 years old for handguns and 18 years old for long guns. Reciprocity wise, Wyoming recognizes all states’ CCWs that honors Wyoming’s as well. For more details on their concealed carrying policies see Wyoming’s reciprocity map here.

NFA Restrictions

There are no NFA restrictions on any weapons or related items in the state of Wyoming. That means machine guns, short barreled rifles, short barreled shotguns, destructive devices and silencers are all legal to purchase and possess. Hunting with a silencer is also allowed. Of course, Wyoming does not have any “assault weapons” ban either.

Magazine Capacity Restrictions

There are no magazine capacity restrictions for Wyomingites. Enjoy those sticks, drums and belt-fed box magazines! Pick up some if you haven’t already — we carry plenty of standard capacity magazines like the 30-round Advanced Warfighter L5 mag. Our favorite color is the translucent smoke one.

Mandatory Storage Requirements

The state of Wyoming does not have any mandatory “safe storage” laws but you should still exercise caution because you can be tried for negligently leaving your guns accessible to children. If you need some good ideas or best practices for storing your guns and gear here are some great storage options.


Wyoming is a castle doctrine state and has an explicit stand your ground law in place which removes the duty to retreat before exercising the use of force or violence in defense of themselves or others.

Ammunition Purchase

Wyoming does not require a license for the purchase, possession or sale of ammo. Sales records do not have to be maintained. Virtually all ammunition is unrestricted in Wyoming. Online ammo purchases require buyers to be at least 21 years old but can be straight to your front door.

Start Your Next 80 Lower Build with 80% Arms!

Wyoming residents are completely free to build their own firearms from 80 lowers and frames without any required serialization or FFL transactions. At this time there have not been any bans on 80 percents so take advantage of your constitutional Second Amendment right and freedom to keep, bear and build your own arms while you can! Grab a  jig for 80 lowers and some buddies to enjoy that freedom together and let us know if you need any advice with your build at any point in the process. Friends, live free.